Tuesday, May 18, 2010



1. What are the effects of the Japanese Occupation of Malaya.

i. Encouraged local leaders to adopt the “Look East” policy.
ii. Ethnic relations deteriorated especially between the Malays and Chinese.
iii. Nationalists were more motivated to seek independence from British colonial rule.
iv. Inculcated Japanese culture and values among the locals.

A. i and ii
B. i and iv
C. ii and iii
D. iii and iv

2.Who was killed by the communists in an ambush in Kuala Lumpur on 6 October 1951?

A. Sir Gerald Templer
B. Sir Henry Gurney
C. Sir Edward Gent
D. Sir Harold Briggs

3. The Federal Constitutipn highlights the distribution of power between the federal and
State governments. What are the issues under the jurisdiction of the state

i. Defence and foreign policy
ii. Protection of wild life
iii. Appointment of district officials
iv. Agriculture and forestry.

A. i and iii
B. ii and iv
C. ii, iii and iv
D. i, ii and iii

4. Malaysia’s nationalblueprint to attain developed nation status by 2020 is Vision 2020.
Which o he following is NOT an aim of the Vision 2020 ?

A. Create a united nation with common objectives
B. Create a modern society based on western culture.
C. Create a caring society with strong moral and ehical values.
D. Create a prosperous society with a better quality of life.

5. Who has the authority to appoint the Prime Minister ?

A. Yang di-Pertuan Agong
B. Yang di-Pertua Negeri
C. Sultan
D. Chief Minister

6. What caused the Malay world to be divided into two countries, now known as Malaysia and Indonesia?

A. Malaysia-Indonesia Treaty
B. Bangkok Treaty
C. Anglo-Siam Treaty
D. Anglo-Dutch Treaty

7. Which country was not in favour of a Federation of Malaysia?

A. Singapore
B. Indonesia
C. Holland
D. Brunei

8. The main function of Parliament is to ___________ laws.

A. enforce
B. amend
C. enact
D. interpret

9. One of the unique charateristics of Malaysian politics is the role of the hereditary rulers.
This sysem is called

A. Conference of Rulers
B. Yang di-Pertuan Agong
C. Constitutional monarchy
D. Parliamentary democracy

10.Why was the Reid Commission formed ?

A. grant independence to Malaya
B. draft the constitution of Malaysia
C. draft a new constitution for the Federation of Malaya
D. get the people’s views on the formation of Malaysia

11. Arrange the following events according to the correct sequence

i. Malayan Union
ii. Japanese Occupation of Malaya
iii. Federation of Malaya
iv. British Military administration
v. Formation of Malaysian

A. iv, ii, i,iii and v
B. iii, iv, v, i and ii
C. i, iii, iv v and ii
D. ii, iv, i,iii and v

12. Which factor did not influence Malaysia’s foreign policies ?
A. geographical aspects
B. political structure of Malaysia
C. historical background
D. education plan.

13. The Inter-Racial Relations Committee, consisting of leaders from the various ethnic groups, was formed in 1949 to find a solution to the racial problem. All the leaders listed below were members of the committee except

A. Dato’ Onn bin Jaafar
B. Tan Cheng Lock
C. EEC Thuraisingam
D. Tunku Abdul Rahman

14. Who was the first Secretary General of Organization of Islamic Council (OIC) ?

A. Dr. Mahathir Mohamad
B. Tunku Abdul Rahman
C. Suharto
D. Yasser Arafat

15. In Malaysia, the special courts are the

i. Appeal Court
ii. Juvenile Court
iii. Military Court
iv. Customs Court

A. i and ii
B. i and iii
C. ii and iii
D. ii and iv

16. What was introduced by the Malaysian government on 17 June 1991 to replace the New Economic
Policy ?

A. National Production Policy
B. Look East Policy
C. National Development Policy
D. Privatisation Policy

17. Rukun Tetangga is a neighbourhood programme under the _________________ .

A. National Unity
B. National Culture Policy
C. National Development Policy
D. Heavy Industries Policy

18. Jus Sanguinis is one of the ways to obtain _________________.

A. a job in the government sector
B. a position in the Cabinet.
C. Citizenship status in Malaysia
D. Membership in Parliament

19. At what stage can an amendment be made to the draft of a law being debated in Parliament ?

A. First Reading
B. Second Reading
C. Third Reading
D. Committee Reading

20. The Federated Malay States was formed in 1896 by the British colonial government. It
Consist of the following states except

A. Johore
B. Pahang
C. Selangor
D. Negeri Sembilan


1. C 2.B 3.C 4.B 5. A 6.D 7. B 8.C 9.C 10.C 11.D 12. D 13. D 14. B 15. C

16. C 17. A 18 C 19 B/D 20.A

1 comment:

  1. Go through the questions and try to answer them before looking at the answers. Best of luck.